Cupcake Travels II

During a stroll down King Street in Alexandria, Virginia I came across two cupcakeries!. Can I just start off by saying that I love Alexandria. Such a beautiful historic area!  I would try to live there if a decent townhouse did not cost one million plus.  During our trip we came across two bakeries that specialized in cupcakes.  Being the budding food critic that I am I had to try both.  This time I remembered to take pictures of the cupcakes and next time I’ll remember to take pictures of the shop! It’s a slow process.  Here is my take on the two shops I visited.

Lavender Moon Cupcakery

When I walked in I was immediately impressed with the store and the look of the cupcakes.  They at least looked appetizing and like some others that I have enjoyed. The store had a very relaxed feel to it, as if you were going to a friend’s house rather than a bakery.  The cupcakes are displayed on what looks like old cake plates rather than fancy displays. In keeping with that the cupcakes were not labeled.  That can be annoying but the staff was very friendly and helpful in describing each cupcake.

My sister and I each picked up a white on white cupcake… yes we are plain I know.  My first reaction to the cake was, when did it become the thing to just plop cream cheese on top of a cupcake! Aren’t you supposed to add a little vanilla and sugar to the cream cheese first?  My palette could almost accept the tanginess of the cream cheese if it was in contrast to a very sweet and moist cake but the cake was bland and extremely dry!   I have had sweeter cornbread than this cake.  As I’ve said before some people may enjoy this type of cake but I am not a fan of dry cake and cream cheese is not icing.

Lavender Moon Cupcake (that cream cheese looks good and deceptive doesn’t it!)

Alexandria Cupcakes

This bakery has a better location but failed in the taste category as well.  The shop was nice,  a little more upscale than Lavender Moon and on the main street.   Lavender Moon and Alexandria Cupcakes are only a few blocks away from each other and I think they shared their cream cheese icing recipe. It’s a cupcake not a bagel!  I picked up a red velvet cupcake and a vanilla cupcake from Alexandria Cupcakes. The red velvet cake itself was decent but as I said before I’m not a fan of plain cream cheese masquerading as icing so I could not eat it.  The white cake was dry and not good but I did enjoy the icing that came with it.  So one cake had bad icing and the other had bad cake.  If they switch those things up maybe I will go back.

White cake with white icing and red velvet from Alexandria Cupcakes.

Red Velvet… once again deceived by the cream cheese!

So in the end I am zero for three when it comes to finding a cupcake place in the DC area! Up next are Georgetown Cupcakes and the Red Velvet Cupcakery. I’ll definitely post my opinions on those as well.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

