Making use of my KitchenAid Mixer: Ice Cream Recipe

photo 5

*** For an updated version of this recipe head to my new blog here ***

After my wedding I was able to talk my husband into getting a KitchenAid mixer with some of the giftcards we received.  To ensure I don’t have to hear about this being an unnecessary expensive purchase for the rest of my life, I make sure I use it for little random things all the time.  I’ve made more homemade cakes and homemade buttercream then my waistline can handle so I started branching out to new things and recipes.  One of my favorite things about the KitchenAid mixer is all of the attachments you can buy for it.  After having it for about 6 months I finally bought my first attachment, the ice cream maker.

photo (40)

 Isn’t she adorable? 🙂 I got the decal from the House of Smith’s website.

Let me just say that making ice cream isn’t as simple as I thought it would be in terms of time.  First the freezer bowl, the necessary element to this whole process, has to be frozen for 15 hours. So don’t be like me and decide you want to buy an ice cream maker at 3pm for ice cream that evening.  You won’t get to enjoy your finished product for at least another day.

I modified and combined a few recipes I found online. The bulk of this recipe is adopted from a Frozen Custard recipe.  My final product didn’t have the consistency of my favorite frozen custard place, Andy’s but it was just my first batch.  Apparently the use of eggs or egg yolks makes frozen custard different from ice cream.  Overall this is a good basic recipe for Vanilla Ice Cream that you can add various mix ins to.

photo 1All of my ingredients plus my containers

**** I revamped this recipe on my new blog with better pictures and links.  Check it out here***

Ingredients

1 Cup of milk ( I used 2% but it’s better to use whole milk)

3 egg yolks

2/3 cups of sugar

1 Vanilla Bean

1 tsp of Vanilla

1 1/2 cups of cream ( I used heavy whipping cream)

Directions

  • Simmer milk in a saucepan with sugar.  Slice Vanilla Bean and scoop out the Vanilla. Add it to the mixture.  You can also throw in the whole Vanilla Bean for additional flavoring. Remove it before next step.
  • Crack egg yolks in separate bowl and whisk them for a bit.
  • Slowly whisk in hot milk and sugar mixture into the egg mixture.
  • Pour combined mixture back into your pan and whisk constantly on low heat.  Continue until mixture thickens.
  • Remove from heat.  I recommend straining the mixture at this point.
  • Add cream and Vanilla extract.
  • Refrigerate for about 8 hours or until ice cream mixture is chilled.

Now to create your ice cream you can use any ice cream machine but I used the KitchenAid mixer ice cream attachment.  As I said the before the bowl needs to be frozen for 15 hours before use.   I followed the directions that came with the packaging.  A few tips.

  • The ice cream is not going to come out like Blue Bell after you are done mixing.  It will look like soft serve. Throw it in the freezer for it to harden.
  • It only takes about 30 minutes of mixing on the stir setting.  Add in mix ins about 10 to 12 minutes into the process.  On this batch I added vanilla cake. This was not the best decision since I don’t care for frozen cake, so I wouldn’t recommend that.  The next batch will have Girl Scout thin mints.  Those may freeze better.

photo 5 Right after I poured the mixture in.

photo 1

After mixing and adding in the cake mix in. (Excuse the shadowy picture, I have the worst lighting in my kitchen!)

I was worried about storing my ice cream so I purchased this reusable Zak container from Sur La Table and some paper containers.  The Zak container is an airtight container and it pretty much freezes solid.  My only complaint is that the container is hard to open.  I almost broke my wrist trying to open the container.  A little hot water on top gets it open without melting your ice cream.

photo 3

The Zak container.

photo 2 The ice cream before freezing. I actually put a little too much in the container. The top digs in for an air tight fit.  I’ll kno better next time.

I am not a fan of melted ice cream, I prefer frozen solid so my Zak container took about a day to freeze all the way, told you this was a long process! I put a small amount of ice cream in the paper ice cream containers.  That was ready in a few hours.

photo 4

After a day of freezing! See the beautiful Vanilla specks?

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Making use of my KitchenAid Mixer: Ice Cream Recipe

  1. Mother says:

    The new Martha Stewart!

  2. This sounds good and I love the decal!

Leave a Reply

